Third Way Announces New House Co-Chairs

Representatives Clyburn, Dingell, Schwartz and Polis Join Think Tank as Honorary Co-Chairs

February 02, 2011

Print Share
Font Size: aaa

Washington – Today, Third Way announced that Assistant House Democratic Leader James E. Clyburn (D-SC), Congressman John D. Dingell (D-MI), Congresswoman Allyson Schwartz (D-PA), and Congressman Jared Polis (D-CO) will join the organization as Honorary House Co-Chairs.

Third Way President Jonathan Cowan said in a statement: “Third Way is honored and delighted that a senior member of the House Democratic leadership, the Dean of the House, and two dynamic members of the New Democrat Coalition have joined our ranks as Honorary Co-Chairs. Each perfectly exemplifies Third Way’s policy perspective: a focus on fostering private sector growth, growing our clean energy sector, common ground approaches to divisive cultural issues, and a national security policy that is both tough and smart.”

Assistant Leader Clyburn said: “I have seen the value and impact of Third Way’s work with the Democratic leadership and throughout our Caucus. I am pleased to be joining as an Honorary Co-Chair and participating more fully in the development and dissemination of Third Way’s ideas.”

Longest-serving House member, Representative Dingell said: “I’ve had the pleasure of working with Third Way on trade, clean energy innovation, health care and a host of other critical issues. Third Way’s influence and impact have made them a valuable partner in advancing these issues, and I look forward to building on my relationship with them.”

A senior member of the House Budget Committee, Representative Schwartz noted that: “Third Way has long offered ideas that promote both fiscal discipline and middle class success. I am thrilled to continue working with them to help produce policy ideas that will drive economic growth and American economic leadership and prosperity.”

Another rising star in the Democratic Caucus, Representative Polis noted that he had worked with Third Way even before he arrived in Congress. He said: “I am excited to join Third Way as an Honorary Co-Chair. Education reform is the cornerstone of my policy agenda and I look forward to working with them to advance an innovative education agenda that will preserve the vitality of public education and maximize potential economic growth.”

Assistant Leader Clyburn and Representatives Dingell, Schwartz and Polis join Representatives Jane Harman (D-CA), Ron Kind (D-WI), Joseph Crowley (D-NY), and Gabrielle Giffords (D-AZ) as Third Way’s Honorary House Co-Chairs.


Press Contacts

Michael Schmidt

Director of Communications